The Different Types of Hysterectomies

A hysterectomy, or the removal of the uterus, can treat various female medical problems, such as fibroids, adenomyosis, abnormal bleeding, pre-cancers, cervical cancer, and more.

Gynecological surgeons remove your uterus and other parts of your reproductive system, such as the cervix, ovaries, or fallopian tubes, depending on the specific medical condition a woman has.

Depending on the medical condition, there are four possible hysterectomies that a surgeon may perform [1].

Total Hysterectomy
The surgeon removes your uterus and your cervix, but not your ovaries. A total hysterectomy is the most common type of hysterectomy.

Radical Hysterectomy
The surgeon removes your uterus, cervix, the top portion of your vagina, most of the tissue surrounding the cervix, and sometimes the pelvic lymph nodes. A radical hysterectomy is only performed when cancer is present.

Supracervical Hysterectomy
The surgeon removes the body of your uterus but leaves your cervix intact. A supracervical hysterectomy can treat noncancerous conditions like fibroids or endometriosis.

Hysterectomy with Oophorectomy
The surgeon removes your uterus, one or both of your ovaries, and sometimes your fallopian tubes.

After a hysterectomy, a woman can no longer have menstrual periods or become pregnant.

If you are interested in consulting with an OBGYN doctor regarding a hysterectomy, contact Dr. Hill through his free and confidential contact form. He can help you determine if a hysterectomy is the right option for you, and if so, which type.



  1. “Types of

Comments are closed.

Skip to content